Homer Hesiod Hymns Tragedy Remythologizing Tools Canvas Info
WEEKS

 

WEEKS

UNITS

DAYS

TOPIC

ASSIGNMENTS

READINGS

Week 1

Unit 1

Wk of May 20

 

 

 

 

 

 

Intro

Teach yourself how the course works!

 

 

Unit 2

 

Growing up to be a hero

Worksheet 2

Due Tues May 22 11:30p

Homer, Odyssey 1-8

 

 

Live class

Wed May 23

                 Come ready to talk about everything from Week 1

Week 2

 

Wk of May 27

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 3

 

Out and Back

Worksheet 3

Due Sun May 27 11:30p

 

Homer, Odyssey 9-16

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 4

 

Identity and Signs

Worksheet 4

Due Tues May 29 11:30p

 

Homer, Odyssey 17-24

 

Live class

Wed. May 30

                 Come ready to talk about everything from Week 2

Week 3

 

Wk of Jun 3

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 5

 

Gods and Humans

Worksheet 5

Featured Writer 1

Due Sun Jun 3 11:30p

 

Hesiod, Theogony

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 6

 

Ritual and Religion

Worksheet 6

Responses 1

Due Tues Jun 5 11:30p

 

Homeric Hymns to Demeter, Apollo

 

Live class

Wed Jun 6

                 Come ready to talk about everything from Week 3

 

Week 4

 

Wk of Jun 10

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 7

 

Justice

Worksheet 7

Featured Writer 2

Due Sun Jun 10 11:30p

 

Aeschylus, Agamemnon, Eumenides

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 8

 

Guilt and Identity

Worksheet 8

Responses 2

Due Tues Jun 12 11:30p

 

Sophocles, Oedipus the King; Euripides, Bacchae

 

Live class

Wed, Jun 13

 

                 Come ready to talk about everything from Week 4

Week 5

 

Wk of Jun 17

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 9

 

Romans

Worksheet 9

Featured Writer 3

Due Sun Jun 17 11:30p

 

Vergil, Aeneid, Aeneid 1-3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 10

 

Romans

Worksheet 10

Responses 3

Due Tues Jun 19 11:30p

 

Vergil, Aeneid, Aeneid 4-6

 

Live class

Wed Jun 20

 

                 Come ready to talk about everything from Week 5

Week 6

 

 Wk of Jun 24

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 11

 

Romans, again

Worksheet 11

Featured Writer 4

Due Sun Jun 24 11:30p

 

Ovid, Metamorphoses (selections available on Canvas)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unit 12

 

 

Worksheet 12

Responses 4

Due Tues Jun 26 11:30p

Roland Barthes, Mythologies, "In the Ring," "The Romans in

  Movies," "The 'Blue Blood' Cruise," "Saponids and Detergents," "Einstein's Brain," "Striptease"

 

 

Live class

Wed June 27

                 Come ready to talk about everything from Week 6

 

                     FINAL EXAM

 

 

 

 

 

Available Wed evening, June 27, after class -- Due Sun., July 1st 11:30p.

 

 

 

 

 

gutter splint
gutter splint
PLACE HOLDER FOR COUNTER
gutter splint